Skip to content

Even Cynics Love Some Sunshine

April 21, 2013

I forgive people who dismiss me as an embittered wench, a curmudgeon mentally aged well beyond 27 years. I’ve given up on love so strongly that I actively avoid dating in hopes of steering clear of it; even the cutest small children nauseate me; and I greet Christmas with a resounding, “Bah, Humbug!

So it would be understandable that one might suspect that I greet the cheerful tidings of spring with a loud of stream of obscenities instead of some kind of invocation to the weather gods, partly because one would be right. Spring heralds the end of ski season and the beginning of allergy season, not to mention blizzards that make Colorful Colorado a uniform shade of white and shut roads down, thus ironically preventing locals from wringing one more ski trip out of the season.

But there are bright spots in my life coming from more than the glare of a giant mofo (the kind that would make anyone’s mother scream) of an icicle dangling precipitously over my windshield. Take Friday, for instance, a spring day following a week of spring blizzards so plentiful in their leavings that no less than world-renowned Vail decided to open its doors for one last weekend, starting Friday.

And that Friday bloomed brightly if wintrily. Vail’s official closing day was April 14, after which no skis or boards had marred the 57 inches that dropped on the resort since that Sunday. The morning marked one of the few breaks in the clouds that my home state had seen in that week, so the sun beamed off a panorama of powder.

What powder it was! Light and fluffy, yet rich and deep. Every turn was a glide through cumulonimbus softness, every traverse a chance to break new ground. And perhaps due to it being a weekday, the lift lines, which I’d fully expected to take at least twice as long as each run, were nearly nonexistent. “I can’t wipe this stupid grin off my face,” I gushed to my skiing buddies.

I was not the only one. Two snowboarders paused under the lift we were riding. They were the dudiest of dude-bros, their clothes and the size of their boards suggesting these were manly men with not a care in the world for anything beyond hot babes, good beer, and extreme boarding.

But what an impact that last had! They were facing each other, and one had his hand on the other’s shoulder.

“Dude, these memories are for us,” he was soulfully, almost tearfully, telling his friend. Perhaps noticing my lift-mates and I shamelessly eavesdropping on his conversation, he turned to us, raised his fist, and screamed, “YEEEEEEEEAHHHH!”

“WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” we whooped in response, a shared cry of joy that echoed down the liftline.

It was doubtlessly the narmiest moment I have ever witnessed and/or participated in during my almost twenty years of skiing. And I realized that as soon as it transpired. But I was also trying to hold back tears that, if asked, I would have blamed on the allergies, never mind that the snow effectively buried all the pollen.

I knew exactly what that dude under the lift was talking about. That day was among the best days I’ve had all year, if not the best. It was one of those days where, as I later said with nary a trace of my usual sarcasm, it felt like the heavens opened up and smiled down on us pathetic mortals. It was one of those days that makes even the most frigid (in the figurative sense, although the outside temperature was as perfect as if I’d been able to set a thermostat) soul unironically exclaim, “Gee, it’s a beautiful day to be alive!”

Even though I still fall prey to wishing the people around me would take their obnoxious bubbliness and shove it where the sun don’t shine, I’m willing to forgive, even admire them for, their convictions on a day when the sun has shone into the deepest caverns of my inky black soul. Even the willingly loveless can’t help feeling the love sometimes.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. I have lived in Colorado my whole life and never been skiing. This makes me think I’m missing out on more than just broken bones.

    • I love it, and the only time I’ve broken anything was when I tried snowboarding. It’s outdoors, beer drinking is encouraged, and even never-befores have a good time!

  2. I’ve only done a couple of years of snowboarding when I lived in Washington State. I know the mountains there don’t compare to the ones in Colorado, but it was still an awesome time. Had many good memories with my Army buddies as we went from knowing nothing to being sem-competent snowboarders. Those days when you have the mountain to yourself are truly the best.

    • I am a little biased towards the Rockies, but Washington and NorCal got some great snow this year…I keep telling myself I’m finally going to take advantage of my Tahoe privileges next season (although “next season” seems to be like Chicago Cubs’ fans mantra of, “Just wait ’til next year”…). The downside of skiing in the areas that are close to Denver is that the days where the mountain is all yours are few and far between.

  3. ebdenart permalink

    Hi Not Taken, Not Available, I have nominated your for the Versatile Blogger award. To accept this please click on the following link https://ebdenart.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/the-versatile-blogger-award/ and follow the instructions on the blog =)

  4. “I’m looking for a cynical girl.” – Marshall Crenshaw.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I’d Rather Be a Creaky Old Fart than Relive My Youth, Thanks | Not Taken, Not Available

Leave a Reply

